An Uninsured Driver Hit Me. Now What?

It is the law that all drivers in the state must have auto insurance but, in reality, 23 percent of drivers in Florida have NO INSURANCE according to the Insurance Research Counsel. And of those, many have only the minimum coverage, called PIP, which offers you no protection.

That information may not matter to you now, but it becomes crucial if you’re ever in a wreck with one of those drivers. If that time comes, after making sure everyone on the scene is safe, here’s what you need to do.
Exchange information Regardless of what insurance coverage you or the other driver has, get each other’s information at the scene of a crash:

Continue reading “An Uninsured Driver Hit Me. Now What?”

Why PIP insurance is not enough

The minimum requirement of automobile insurance in the state of Florida is $10,000.00 personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000.00 property damage liability. Although the intent to require such minimums was to create stability and reduce litigation, in reality, these amounts are not enough to protect you and your loved ones while on the road.

Continue reading “Why PIP insurance is not enough”